Mind over matter

I normally don’t mind Mondays, because I work weekends twice a month there are only on or off days. However, today is just a rubbish day and it happened to land on a Monday.
I already noticed my back being a little sore yesterday and thought it would sort itself out over night, like it does so many times.
Yes, you guessed right, it didn’t 😦
I woke up and felt right away that it had got worse over night.
I got up and went for a hot bath in the hope it would soothe things a bit but no such luck. Afterwards I sat on my bed and was a little lost as to what to do. I wanted to walk to the bus this morning and take the bus that stops about ten mins away from work so I could start walking a bit more. They say with sciatica and all those kind of things you should keep mobile as much as possible, but just standing up is a killer today, so walking any kind of distance really isn’t my idea of fun.
So I sat there, pondering about what to do. After all it would only cost me £3 in a taxi to get to the bus stop…
So I grabbed my stuff walked outside and I walked, slowly, probably looking rather ridiculous, clenching my back and quietly swearing every now and then, but I did it. It took me 20 mins to get there but I got there and I didn’t give in to my usual laziness.
So today is not such a bad day after all. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Mind over matter

  1. Congratulations for staying active. I know that decision has changed many lives over the years. But please don’t push it to hard, I would hate to read an update that said your back got worse.

    Like

Leave a Reply

