New beginnings

Ok, so I guess I didn’t do too well with the whole a post per week thing, but, as you all know, life has a habit of happening while you make other plans.
I have been super busy with work and have also had lots of appointments with various doctors to get my poorly hands and shoulders seen too (with little success so far, but that’s a different story).
Also, there is a new man in my life, after being single for three years that certainly created a mess in my well thought out single woman plan :-).

I somehow still managed to get the blanket finished, which I started what seems an eternity ago.

image

I used Rico Basic Acrylic chunky for it and once I had finished it washed it with Lenor and it’s the most softest blanket you ever had. Loving it! Just a shame it’s for my son and not for me, but seeing his eyes light up when he gets it will be a nice reward.

Now, I know I have another three projects on the go, but time is going by so fast and it’s only 17 weeks until Christmas, so I just had to start on blanket number two. Okay, who am I kidding? I just couldn’t help myself, I needed an excuse to buy new yarn.

I ordered two humongous balls of special aran with wool by Stylecraft, one in black and one in white to satisfy my daughters craze for monochrome and I decided on a stripy c2c crotchet blanket to satisfy my need for diversity.
Originally she wanted just horizontal stripes but I think that would drive me insane after a day.

image

It’s looking nice so far, but I am not too sure if I am keen on the yarn. Due to the wool content it’s not as soft as I would like it to be, but on the other hand I need it for warmth as my daughter is always freezing. I think I will carry on for a bit more and then wash it and put it in the dryer to see if it softens up.
Will keep you posted 🙂

Keep an eye out for a couple more posts that I have planned for the next few days. Feel free to share or comment with feedback or suggestions 🙂

2 thoughts on “New beginnings

Leave a Reply

