The British Wool Weekend and the world’s best boyfriend

Sorry if this is two weeks late, but as you all know, life has a habit of happening while you make other plans.

So, it turns out that my boyfriend is actually the most awesome boyfriend EVER!

At the moment we are having a long distance relationship. He lives about two hours drive from me, so he comes to see me every Friday after work and generally stays until Monday morning and then he gets up at 5am to drive to work.

Three weeks ago I found out that the British Wool Weekend in York was happening and I did really want to go, but it was almost a two hour drive from my house and I didn’t have the cash to get on the train. I didn’t want to ask my boyfriend really, because he already does so much driving to come and see me and the kids, that I thought it would be quite cheeky to ask.

So I just sent him the link to the website and telling him that I’d love to go to something like this some time and he straight away said he would take me on Saturday! I asked him several times if he was sure and told him that it would be really boring for him, but he stuck by what he said and took me there.

image

We got there around 1pm and,  due to me being pretty low on funds, I set myself a budget of £20 to spend on fibre. I didn’t want to buy any wool, as I have several drawers full of it and I am trying to get rid of it all and then hopefully manage to just buy for individual projects. Ok, ok, you can stop laughing now. I will at least try not to be such a yarn hoarder anymore. Anyway, with all the yarn I have, I think I won’t be facing this issue for at least a couple of years.

Ok, let’s have a look at what I have come back with…

image

First of all, this lovely, super soft and squishy Polwarth from Skybluepink-designs ,  200g for £9.
Check out her website, she sells all sorts of crafty things, from fibre over buttons to handspun yarns and knitting needles.

Then I picked up some cute little buttons 6 for £1.20.

image

I got these from ButtonsIncUK.  They will be for the Tubuĺarity Shawl which I am currently knitting from all my handspun yarn. More on that in a different post.

And finally, I bought these two beauties!

image

These are from Wheeldale Woolcrafts .  I just love purple and these shades I can imagine will look lovely spun to a fingering weight finished with basic ply.
The multicoloured blue faced Leicester will be spun really thin and then Navajo ply it so I hopefully end up with stripes.

Right, that was pretty much all I bought that day. I had a lovely time walking through York on the way back and parking at the scariest multi-storey car park! No word of a lie, it had the steepest, most narrow ramp I have ever seen and had to be used on the way in and out. So, if two cars meet in the middle one would have to reverse. Luckily nobody came up as we went down, but still, I was not a happy bunny

Leave a Reply

