It appears that I have found my happy place!

I have always liked the sea. When I was little, my mum sent me to Norderney , a small island in the North Sea just off the German coast. I think that’s when my love for the sea its beaches began. I just was in total awe of the size of it and how at peace it made me feel just when I sat there and looked out to it.

Over the years, I have always made sure that at least once in a blue moon I got my fix of peacefulness, but I don’t think I have ever appreciated it as much as I do now.

In the last week I was lucky enough to visit the seaside twice. My boyfriend has had two interviews for a job in Blackpool and each time he took me along and dropped me off at the promenade, where I then walked to my favourite Chippy, bought a burger and a bottle of Coke, and then walked to the beach.

image

One day the tide was out and it was nice to people watch and listen to some music while I knitted on, what appears to be, my never ending Tubuĺarity Shawl .

image

As you can see, it’s growing nicely, but nowhere near as fast as I would like. It currently measures 90cm so I have another 25cm to go. I think that’s roughly about 10 inches, if you’re more used to imperial measurements.

I had quite an audience while sitting there, but this little fella here was my favourite. It was almost as he was posing for the camera and he came really close, probably wanting a nice chunk of my burger, but wasn’t loud and annoying like the rest of his many mates.

image

image

The first day I went to Blackpool Beach was for knitting too, but a fantastic day for taking pics.

image

image

image

image

I love the sea when it’s windy and the waves are crashing in. Makes you feel alive and it’s so relaxing just to sit there and watch it. To me these two hours where the most relaxing ones I had all year. It’s kind of like doing a factory reset to your mind, no more stress to clog up your mind and ready to take on the rest of the world again.

This will definitely be on my to do list once a month from now on.

8 thoughts on “It appears that I have found my happy place!

  1. Lovely pictures and memories to carry you through your day-to-day. My few visits to the ocean, off the North Carolina shore, have been similarly refreshing. It’s almost like a retreat. We all need that from time to time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

