My first session with a personal trainer and I live to tell the tale!

I have really been slacking with the blog and even more with going to the gym.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the gym, but I hate going/getting there. I don’t know what it is, every time I almost have to give myself a ten minute inaudible prep talk just to get my lazy butt into gear. Once I am there, I am loving the challenge and do try and push myself really hard.

I think I have been getting a little lost lately as to what to do and how to get myself motivated. This is the reason why I am hiring Dave, my trainer.

Since I am constantly skint I was glad that I got three free lessons, or sessions? Well, I have learned a lot today so to me it was a lesson.

I have been on beta blockers for over ten years and since coming off them a couple of years back I have always got anxious about getting my heart to pound good and proper, because it felt uncomfortable and just not right, if that made sense. After half an hour on the cross trainer doing HIIT (high intensity interval training) my heart was well and truly pounding, but knowing that I had a professional there who knows what he is doing took that fear away and he also told me that once you hit a certain level it’s ok to feel that way and that it feels uncomfortable to everyone.

After that he made me do a few weights and then he advised me on where I could get my training plan that he will draw up for me.

As I have already said, I am constantly skint so we will meet once a month to review and crank it up a gear.

I really do hope that this will motivate me a little more, to go to the gym and to eat a little better.

We shall see…

9 thoughts on “My first session with a personal trainer and I live to tell the tale!

  1. I am SO terrible about the gym. I get very bored very easily at the gym or on my treadmill. It’s hard to talk myself into it and hard to keep going once I get there. I started yoga recently and have an easier time staying focused, maybe because it’s lead?

    Good luck! The trainer sounds great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

