A slightly different Christmas

As per usual, I started writing a post and didn’t get round to finishing it for days. It’s been a very relaxing day with the kids sat in the livingroom eating, drinking playing games and just general chilling out. It has been a more than eventful year for us. Boyfriend moving in, new jobs, boyfriend moving back out again… It’s ok though, we just don’t seem to be able to live together πŸ™‚ maybe we will try that again at some point further down the line.

So, how was Christmas apart from that? Different !

A few weeks back I went to hobby craft, a big craft supply retailer in the UK, and I bought some Christmas supply for all the projects I had in mind. We came home and I put the shopping away until I had the time to actually do some crafts. Well, the date came and guess who couldn’t fine that silly bag of craft supplies?! The kids and I searched everywhere and couldn’t find it. I was absolutely gutted, because I did spend quite a bit of money on the things and I wanted to make ornaments for the tree :-(.

The tree… Oh yes, the tree, another little funny Christmas antic! For the last ten years of living in the UK we have always had an artificial tree. Simply because without a car, as I don’t drive, it was hard to get a real one. This year however, I was finally in the position to get a real tree, but I was debating whether to go for it or not because in the end, buying a nice, a bit more pricey fake tree would last me a good few years. So the other half took me shopping for threes I looked everywhere for a nice fake one, but just wasn’t happy. Then outside of our local supermarket there it was, my tree, a real one and the most beautiful thing ever. Quite tall, but so full and nicely shaped, I had to have it. The other half isn’t a fan of real trees, so out came the puppy dog eyes and the “Oh babe it’s SO pretty!” and when the guy who sold them offered free delivery the deal was done. Oh I was so happy! Until it got here hahaha. It was delivered and well, let say my eyes were bigger than my living room. This thing was HUGE!
It took quite a bit of a joint effort to put it up and I did have to trim a bit from the back to make it fit in the room lol not to mention the furniture I had to move around hahaha, the kids were giggling about me and the tree, and I was ever so slightly cursing myself for wanting a really tree in the first place, but in the end, it was so worth the hassle as we have a gorgeous tree.

image

Shame though that we didn’t manage to get the ornaments made, I thought. So a day before Christmas in a desperate attempt me and the kids looked once more for the “bag”.

There I was retracing my steps from when I went shopping for them. ” I came in the house and sat in the sofa, unpacked everything and looked at the craft supplies and then… What did I do with them then?” Then all of a sudden my little one, I say little one, he is 13 in two months, jumped up and shouted:” Ha, l know, I know!β€œ, then walks to the side of the couch and picks up the box for the new shoes I bought on the same day. He opens the box and, TADAA! My crafty things!
Needless to say, we didn’t end up using them as I didn’t have the time so shortly before Christmas. So stay tuned for some out of season Christmas ornament post haha. I need to use the air dry clay soon before it dries.

Christmas itself was, good. I didn’t make a mess of dinner, which was a nice change. It was different from the nice family event I had wished for as the other half went to his mums, but he was here boxing day, which was lovely. Now that we have put a bit if space between us, we get on so much better again. I guess after being the boss in my house for 17 years it is very difficult to share again. I am just glad that we managed to pull our relationship around again and not break up for good, because after all we do love eachother like crazy.

Despite everything going different from how I wanted it, it’s been a good Christmas. The kids were happy with their presents and the other half has outdone himself yet again by giving me a 32 inch Ashford rigid heddle loom and this little beauty!

image

A yarn bowl from Little Wren Pottery! I can’t wait to use it!

So get yourself prepared for my newest weaving adventures in the next few months!

I hope that all you guys had a wonderful Christmas and wish you all a happy New Year!  Thank you for sticking around and your lovely comments, which are always very much appreciated.

11 thoughts on “A slightly different Christmas

  1. I have done something similar to you regarding a real tree. Years ago, maybe a decade, we went to get a tree. I insisted The One will be tall enough, Mr. Geek (then just boyfriend) kept saying it was too tall. Lots of back and forth, and we got that tree. Got it home and oops! Too tall! He ended up cutting off a few inches and it was still too tall.

    I had also intended to make some ornaments. It wasn’t until a few days before Christmas that I remembered. Oh well. Next year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

