I has a boo boo :-( 

Not sure how much I have told you guys about this foot injury that has been bugging me over the last 10 months. I started running last summer and after I slipped in the park, it was painful and swollen and never really got much better. After weeks of trying to convince my GP that I did not have shin splints, I requested a referral to an orthopaedic surgeon, who quickly diagnosed me with tarsal tunnel syndrome (apparently super rare, lol trust me to get it). It’s like carpal tunnel syndrome, but in the foot. He also diagnosed me with achilles tendonitis and a small Haglund’s deformity of my heel bone. Basically, the heel bone had bits poking out where they shouldn’t so they rubbed on my achilles tendon causing the inflammation. So he said that he could fix both in one surgery and it would be about 8 weeks recovery time. Not great, but by that time it was 8 months in and no physio or meds did help and I got so fed up with being in pain that I agreed to the surgery, which was on December 21St. 

Day of the surgery came and the surgeon came into my room looked at my foot and told me that he would only untrap the nerve for the tarsal tunnel and “the rest will resolve itself”. I was not convinced, and I really should have just walked out at that time. But you know what it’s like, you’re all hyped up and flustered because you’re about to have surgery etc.,  so I went ahead with it. 

Needless to say that of course my pain in the heel didn’t resolve itself. Pieces of bone that irritate something don’t just vanish lol. In fact, as I recovered from the tarsal tunnel release and started walking again, things got much worse. At the follow up appointment the surgeon just said to wait it out, and when I asked how long for he said” ummmm 12months?!” 

That was the point where I walked out and got a second opinion in the hope of finding someone who is willing to actually help me. I did a little research and found just the man for it. Dr Mike Karski, honorary surgeon for Blackburn Rovers football team. He looked at my files and said he was willing to do the surgery, if I wanted to and he warned me that it will be a long and painful recovery, as he had to cut some of my heel bone off, after detaching my achilles tendon which he would clean up and remove all the inflamed tissue and then screw it back into my heel with some biodegradable screws (how cool?!).

So, two days ago, only eight weeks after my initial surgery, I had surgery number two. The surgeon came to see me after and told me it was worse than he thought, once he actually got into it, and he had to remove part of my tendon, so recovery will take a bit longer. 

This time the general anaesthetic really knocked me for six, and they decided to keep me in over night, under much protest and whinging from me lol. In the end my daughter just said she won’t take me home cos I really didn’t look well. Bless her, she is such a sensible girl at only 18. So I stayed in and by the next day I felt a bit better, so they let me go home. 

I should have known this trip home was not under a good star when the taxi driver took an hour to get to the hospital, because he “couldn’t find me”. He was not the sharpest knife in the drawer, bless him. Then he drove me home at a speed, where I was wondering if I would be faster on crutches. 

Finally home, I get out of the taxi and start hopping back to the house. It was a rainy day, and I really should have thought about how slippery the pavement becomes after a day of rain. Guess I was still a bit drowsy. You can guess what happens next lol, the crutches went from under me and I fall. I tried to catch myself from going down and ended up putting my entire bodyweight through my freshly operated foot. Oh my God, the pain! I literally thought I would pass out it hurt so bad. I could hardly breathe. Luckily a couple from across the road helped me up and back to the house, where I just crashed on the couch for a sob. 

I called my mate who was kind enough to take me back to the hospital to get the foot checked out and make sure I hadn’t undone any stitches or worse. The stitches were still intact, but they couldn’t look at the tendon because they had no mri machine there. The surgeon has said he has never seen any of these screws come out or the tendon come undone in his time that he has been using this method, so I am just sat here now, nursing my poor foot and hoping for the best. 

I have an appointment in two weeks for a check up, so I will wait until then and hopefully all is good.

I guess I have plenty of time for knitting and drawing and working on my blog. 

I am a little stuck for some good TV that I can binge on, so feel free to leave me some comments with suggestions on how to kill time lol. 

Hope all of you are well 🙂 

Mona x 

12 thoughts on “I has a boo boo :-( 

  1. Oh goodness! I hope your recovery goes smoothly. I can not imagine how painful it is.

    For shows I have enjoyed Santa Clarita Diet on Netflix, Z: The Beginning of Everything on Amazon (available for free for Prime members). We just started watching The Path on Hulu+. Oh, This is Us which is currently airing on NBC here which I am watching through Hulu. Not sure if any of these are available to you. Victoria was really good. It just finished on PBS, I think it aired in UK last year?

    Like

  2. Sending you lots of good healing energy! My advice is embrace the down-time. It’s a chance to do the things you never have enough time for.

    It certainly made my recuperation much more pleasant, instead of my norm, of fighting it.

    Most importantly, you should use it as a chance to pamper yourself because you have been through a lot. And don’t forget to celebrate the little victories in your recovery. It sounds silly but it does help you feel progress is being made.

    Like

    • You’re totally right Bratislava. Thanks for reminding me that we can’t be superwoman every time lol. Just going to sit back and chill for a bit and do as I please. Luckily my kids are super helpful and pamper their mum 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your story had me cringing in sympathy for you! I had surgery for wrist tendinitis last year, but mine was very minor compared to what you’ve been enduring.
    Do you like watching older comedies? Stuff like Keeping Up Appearances, Father Ted, Only Fools and Horses, Black Books, The IT Crowd… it might be that a few good laughs will help pass the time and speed the healing process. Best wishes!

    Like

  4. I actually winced at the part where you fell over. Hoping for a speedy recovery for you. I’m not sure what kind of thing you like, but my husband and I like Westwood, Fortitude, Blacklist – none of which are particularly cheery though. I love a bit of Grey’s anatomy and Scandal, but my husband can’t stand them. Breaking Bad was fantastic if you haven’t already seen it. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

